Assumptions on Paul

Temiloluwa Adeniyi-Ipadeola
2 min readSep 1, 2020

--

The knowledge I have of paul’s work in the new testament are generic public information, for example, Paul wrote a majority of the new testament epistles with some debates over a few books like Hebrews. I know Paul was not part of the original twelve disciples of Jesus. He was later converted from Judaism while he was on the Damascus road to prosecuted Christians. I know Paul was extremely educated in Judaism trained under Gamaliel, the leading authority in the Sanhedrin, and was mostly being groomed to succeed Him. Also familiar with pauls missionary exploits through Asia-minor, and Europe, his return to Jerusalem; for verification from the 12 direct apostles of Jesus Christ regarding the Gospels they are all preached. Paul's imprisonment, and later his beheaded by the order of Nero in 67AD. These accounts along with other theological applications in his epistles have kept my fascination on the life of paul. Most of my knowledge of paul’s life and ministry is directly from his epistles and the book of the Acts of the Apostles. I’m most curious about pauls early life as a zealous Jew, and also his greek education coupled with his Roman citizenship. His private life is not included in the texts I've been exposed to prior to his conversion. The reason for my interest in the historic account of pauls life is due to the impact it had on the Greek or Roman world. The gentile church exploded due to this Mans conversion to Christianity. That which he hated with zeal and passion of a proud and self-righteous Pharisee, He later loved with the cost of his social status as a Jew, Roman citizenship, and eventually his life. I want to learn as if I was exposed to the social, legal, religious, and cultural underpinning of a first-century Jew as he studies and learns about the life and ministry of Paul of Tarsus.

--

--